Intro: The Colossal Faith of Atheists

“The Colossal Faith of Atheists” is the title of a series of posts I am going to run for a while, explaining why the evidence available to me, leads me to the conclusion that a colossal amount of faith is needed to maintain an atheistic worldview. The aim is to provide evidence both scientific and philosophical to prove the existence of God beyond reasonable doubt. My mantra is, if only ONE person just ONE is educated or takes something from this my purpose for this series would have been accomplished. I would like to ask you the reader as you read this, to read it with an open mind so it can be useful to you. To be 100% clear, being open-minded does not mean being willing to accept something without evidence. Being open-minded means that you are willing to accept new evidence as it arises. Today is just an introduction of what is to come over the next couple of months.

I’d like to start humbly by saying that the aim of this post is not to present myself as a seasoned scientist but instead as a scholar of science presenting the evidence not as a discovery of mine but as extracts from so many credible sources, mainly the book- “I don’t Have enough Faith to be an Atheist” by Frank Turek and Norman Geisler which I would recommend for every lover of knowledge to get, it is such a great book and explains everything in more detail and also articles from the NASA  website and many other credible articles online. I would also like to humbly admit that I don’t think anyone can prove the existence of a God using only science with a hundred percent certainty as nothing can ever be proven with such certainty using only science. We can never be 100% sure that our perception of reality is accurate, and scientific experiments are virtually impossible to totally and completely control. Further, science often relies on probabilities to draw conclusions. All of this prevents science from ever proving anything with absolute certainty. That does not, however, mean that science is untrustworthy, or that you can reject it whenever you like. Science tells us what is most likely true given the current evidence, but it is a skeptical process that always acknowledges the possibility of being wrong. Hence, it is technically possible that gravity isn’t true, that the sun moves around the earth, vaccines don’t work, etc., but that doesn’t mean that you should assume that those ideas are correct. Similarly, it is also technically possible that I could win the lottery, but that doesn’t make buying a lottery ticket is a good investment. Even so, it is technically possible that scientific conclusions are wrong, but it is foolhardy to believe that they wrong unless you have strong scientific evidence that discredits them. Science is ever-changing by definition. All we can do as fragile, imperfect humans is try to make sense of the magnificent, awe-inspiring world around us. However, from my research I strongly believe that the existence of God (a spaceless, timeless, immaterial, intelligent, personal being) can be proven beyond REASONABLE DOUBT(because I promise you as sad and frustrating as it can be there exists something like unreasonable doubt) and the scientific evidence which I will provide is just one the many stages of this journey. So I invite you to follow me as we explore the evidence.

Finally, I would like to remind everyone of one of my favourite quotes;

“The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress”. – Joseph Joubert

Leave a Reply

